Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on email

Looking for recommendations? Here are great books to give as a gift!

Does your child perhaps love reading books? Or it might be a book nerd colleague whom you would like to add one to her collection? Or just a book for yourself to read this winter vacation? Searching the high and lows of the bookstore’s shelves no more, for we got you covered! 

Here are some of our recommendations for books you want to give as a gift!

  1. Instructions for Dancing by Nicola Yoon

How intriguing it is to see visions of people’s romantic fates, just like Cupid. But because love eventually ends with a broken heart, the main protagonist, Evie Thomas, has decided to stray away from the path of love forever. Here comes X, an adventurous man in her dance class, is she gonna take this risk? Or is he worth the risk? 

This book is perfect for teenagers who gush about love, or just for people who generally love romance. Instructions for Dancing will surely make you “dance” in it’s ballroom full of emotions that will be felt while reading this book, securing it’s list for quality book gifts this Christmas!

  1. Cookies by Jesse Szewcyzk

Guess who likes milk and cookies during this festive season? It’s no other than Santa Claus! How about surprising him with these new and inventive cookie recipes from Jesse Szewcyzk’s pastry cookbook entitled “Cookies”. But, but but! If you think this is an ordinary recipe book for good old chocolate chip cookies or peanut butter cookies, you are wrong! This book will surprise you with innovative recipes such as Blueberry muffin sugar cookies! This is a perfect gift for your mom, aunt or anyone who’s into baking

Alt: We also have recommendations for cookbooks, which you can find here!

Check out the book now and who knows, the person you’re giving this to might just become the next Santa Claus’ favorite chimney to come down to! Pun intended.

  1. Beasts of Prey by Ayana Grey

Chock full of atmospheric world-building and nonstop adventure, Beasts of Prey is a breakout debut fantasy about two teenagers — one indentured servant and the other a fallen warrior — who come together to hunt the Shetani, a vicious monster that has been menacing their city. This first book in an immersive new series is perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone, The Gilded Ones, and An Ember in the Ashes.

  1. Piranesi by Susanna Clarke

Piranesi is a rising fantasy-themed novel that was written by Susanna Clarke. It is Clarke’s second novel, following her debut which was published sixteen years prior to Piranesi. This novel won the 2021 Women’s Prize for Fiction. Piranesi revolves around the story of Piranesi, who lives in a place called the House,  a world composed of infinite halls adorned with statues, no two of which are alike, a world in which he can’t leave. From there, he records everyday the events happening to him, which comprises the said novel.

It’s a must for fans of fantasy, and the moral lesson of the novel is something we can relate to: isolation, and how he dealt with it. 

  1. If I had your face by France Cha

“Even as a girl, I knew the only chance I had was to change my face. When I looked into the mirror, I knew everything in it had to change, even before a fortune-teller told me so.”

This novel by France Cha talks about the extreme beauty standard South Korea, or even the world, faces today. South Korea practically has a world of strict social hierarchy, extreme plastic surgery and Kpop mania. If I had your Face follows the interconnected lives of your young women- Kyuri, a beautiful woman who works as a hostess; Miho, a talented artist who returned to Korea and finds herself in a relationship with a chaebol, a young heir to one of Korea’s biggest company; Ara who is a stylist that is obsessed with a boy band star; and Wonna, a newlywed who is not able to afford and educate her child. Together, they face the crisis most of us are facing today, yet proves that everything is possible if you work together.

  1. A Man Called Ove: A Novel by Fredrick Backman

“If there was an award for ‘Most Charming Book of the Year,’ this first novel by a Swedish blogger-turned-overnight-sensation would win hands down” (Booklist, starred review).

In this novel by Fredrick Backman, it’s all about Ove, which is the kind of neighbor you don’t wanna associate with, for he points at people he dislikes or some sort. But what happens when one morning, a chatty young couple with equally chatty young daughters move in next door and accidentally flatten Ove’s mailbox?

Got you hooked, right? Want to read the rest? Grab a copy of the book now for you and to give your loved ones! This book has over 2 million copies sold, so time is ticking! It might be sold out if you don’t grab one now!

  1. Lore Olympus by Rachel Smythe

Fans of comics must have knowledge about this popular webtoon. But did you know that Lore Olympus is finally in print? For those who are in the dark about the world of comics, Lore Olympus is a story about our mythical Greek gods and Goddesses from the Greek Mythology which is reimagined in a full-color edition. Lore Olympus brings Greek mythology into the modern age in a sharply perceptive and romantic graphic novel.

Rachel Smythe’s Lore Olympus’ Volume 1 features the first 1-25 chapters of the webtoon, which focuses on the life of the young goddess of Spring, Persephone, who was new to Olympus and how her entire life changed when she met Hades on a party where Artemis took her. 

Alt: Want to read the further chapters of Lore Olympus? Be sure to check out here for the official webtoon page!

Did you find a book that suits the one you’re giving a gift to? If yes, then it’s great! We’re glad to be of help on choosing your perfect Christmas gift. If you’re still looking for more, you can freely browse on our website for tons of novels to find!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.